AVI Country Director Musa Naroro, inviting change

With 130 staff, 20 offices globally and experience working in 89 countries, we have a proven track record of managing people in complex international settings.

Our leadership team, comprised of the CEO, Executive team and Board of Directors, focuses on achieving quality outcomes in development, managing risks effectively, and delivering value to the organisation's stakeholders.  

Board of Directors

Sam Mostyn
Sam Mostyn President

Sam Mostyn sits on the boards of Virgin Australia, Transurban Group and Citibank Australia, and has previously held senior executive roles at IAG, Optus and Cable & Wireless plc. Sam was the first woman appointed the AFL Commission where she advocates for the inclusion of women at all levels of the AFL. 

Sam is also a member of the Board of the Australia Council for the Arts and the Sydney Theatre Company, Deputy Chair of the Diversity Council of Australia. Sam has been a Commissioner with the National Mental Health Commission and on National Sustainability Council of Australia since 2012.

Kathleen Townsend Profile Picture
Kathy Townsend Chair

Kathy Townsend is Managing Director of Kathleen Townsend Executive Solutions, a national executive search firm, working with organisations in the corporate, government and not-for-profit sectors to appoint Board Directors, CEOs and their direct reports. 

Prior to establishing the firm, Kathy was a Partner with Australia’s largest search firm, Amrop International. Previously she spent a number of years as an Adviser to the Attorney General before being appointed as the head of the Office of the Status of Women in the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet in Canberra. Having worked in international development in Malaysia and Pakistan, Kathy maintains an active personal and professional interest in the sector. An experienced company director, Kathy served on the Council of Swinburne University where she was Deputy Chancellor for six years.  She is a member and occasional presenter for the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Dr Peter Wilkins
Dr Peter Wilkins Deputy Co-chair

Dr Peter Wilkins is Adjunct Professor at The John Curtin Institute of Public Policy at Curtin University. He is also Senior Research Fellow at the Curtin Not-for-profit Initiative and an Honorary Research Fellow at the Sir Walter Murdoch School of Public Policy and International Affairs at Murdoch University.

Previously, Peter was Deputy Ombudsman and Assistant Auditor General Performance Review for the Western Australia government. Peter is a returned Australian volunteer Lecturer – Agriculture, Serdang Agriculture University, Malaysia, 1972 – 1973.

AVI Board sub-committee: Chair, Governance Committee.

Jenny McGregor
Jenny McGregor Deputy Co-chair

Jenny McGregor is the founding CEO of Asialink at The University of Melbourne and founding Executive Director of the Asia Education Foundation. She is currently on the Advisory Board of the Dunlop Asia Awards and a member of the Executive of the Melbourne Confucius Institute.  

Prior to taking up her Asialink appointment in 1990, Jenny was a political adviser and senior manager in Australia’s Federal and State governments.

AVI Board sub-committee: Member of the Finance and Asset Management Committee.

David Singleton Director

David Singleton is one of Australia’s leading infrastructure experts, with 40 plus years of experience, including 5 years as Arup’s CEO in Australia and 7 years as Arup’s global infrastructure leader. Five times one of Engineers Australia’s 100 Most Influential Engineers he is a member of Council at Swinburne University of Technology and a Non-executive director at Standards Australia.

He is Chairman of the Infrastructure Sustainability Council of Australia and Chair of Swinburne’s Smart Cities Research Institute, where he helps to improve the liveability, productivity & resilience of Australian communities through sustainability in infrastructure and key city shaping projects. 

Jennifer Johnson
Jennifer Johnston Director

Jennifer Johnston is the Executive Director at CEVHAP (the Coalition to Eradicate Viral Hepatitis in Asia Pacific) and Principal at Advocomm Australasia P/L. She has been a policy adviser to several federal Members of Parliament including former Prime Minister, John Howard and has also worked in small business and at senior management level in the corporate sector.

Jennifer has lived and worked in a number of countries across the Asia Pacific region including Papua New Guinea, Indonesia and Singapore. She is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

AVI Board sub-committee: Member, Risk Management and Audit Committee

Lyma Nguyen
Lyma Nguyen Director

Lyma Nguyen is a barrister at William Forster Chambers, Darwin, and Practicing International Victims Counsel at the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia. She is also Law and Justice Civilian Expert on the register of the Australian Civilian Corps.  

Lyma has previously worked in Australia’s Attorney-General’s Department and Queensland’s Office of the Director for Public Prosecutions. She also worked as an Australian volunteer International Criminal Law Adviser, Legal Aid Cambodia, 2010 – 2011.

Martine Letts
Martine Letts Director

Martine Letts is currently the CEO of the Committee for Melbourne. She was previously CEO of the Australia China Business Council, Deputy Director of Lowy Institute for International Policy and CEO of Red Cross.

Martine has also had a long diplomatic career, including a posting as Australian Ambassador to Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay, and Adviser to former Foreign Minister Gareth Evans. 

AVI Board sub-committee: Governance Committee

Dean Tillotson
Dean Tillotson Director

Dean Tillotson is Principal at Acumulus Consulting Group. He has previously held senior roles at ANZ / Esanda Finance and in the health sector, including Executive Group Manager/CEO at Australian Health Management (ahm).

AVI Board sub-committee: Chair, Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee

Wendy Tyrell
Wendy Tyrrell Director

Wendy Tyrrell is Managing Director of The Long View Consulting, a Non-Executive Board Member of Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative and Deputy Chair of Transparency International Australia.

Wendy has previously held senior roles in the resources and extractive sector focusing on sustainable development, environment, community and external affairs.

AVI board sub-committee: Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee